Categories
Main course Veggies

Baked or Broiled Brocolli

We like our asparagus, and our brocolli, done in the oven, as opposed to boiling. If I already have the oven on for meat, I just pop it in for a longer time (than broiling) on the top rack. If I am in a hurry, I put it in alone, under the broiler.

I cut washed brocolli into medium/large florets, and toss them, by hand, in a bowl with enough olive oil to coat. Sprinkle well with sea salt & cracked pepper.
You could substitute garlic salt for sea salt; or throw in a spoon full of minced garlic, if you wanted. Sometimes I also sprinkle in Mexican Chili powder (contains lime).

image

Spread the brocolli onto a rimmed cookie sheet.
If I am using oven heat, I place in a hot oven for 30-45 mins (though oven cooking times vary quite widely!.
If putting under the broiler, anywhere from 10-20 mins (watching more carefully, of course).
Turn the brocolli about halfway through cooking.

You want it to brown a bit, as that is what gives it all the flavour!
You can sprinkle with Parmesan cheese when it comes out of the oven if you want, but even simple with just olive oil, salt & pepper, it is delicious!

image

 

By joannekerr

A ponderer and a putterer.
Pastor's wife.
Mother of 4, who have in turn expanded our family to 15 and counting💕
Grateful for dear friends and family.

Leave a comment